Welcome to the Batesville Memorial Public Library

Our dynamic library serves the residents of Batesville Indiana.  Batesville is situated on two county lines, Franklin and Ripley.   Our district includes Ray township in Franklin County, Laughery township and parts of Adams township in Ripley County.   We offer a wide variety of materials to our patrons of all ages including books, audiobooks, DVD’s, music CD’s, magazines, ukuleles and mobile hotspots.  We are a member of Evergreen Indiana which gives our patrons access to materials across the state of Indiana.  We are also members of the Indiana Digital Download Center by Overdrive that allows patrons free access to e-books, periodicals, audio books and streaming video via their electronic devices.  The library provides free access to computers with Internet access and Wi-Fi.  We have meeting rooms and spaces for study and the collaboration of ideas.  We provide avenues for lifelong learning through programming for all ages.  We are always seeking to improve, enhance and provide new services to our community.

Welcome to Batesville Memorial Public Library, in beautiful southeastern Indiana.


Monday 9:00 am - 5:00 pm
Tuesday 9:00 am - 5:00 pm
Wednesday 9:00 am - 5:00 pm
Thursday 9:00 am - 5:00 pm
Friday 9:00 am - 5:00 pm
Saturday 10:00 am - 2:00 pm

Library Closings

Library Holidays and Closures


Meet Our Staff

Library Management

The library is governed by a seven-member Board of Trustees and overseen by Library Director Kim Porter.

Batesville Memorial Public Library Board of Trustees

Click for more information

General Information

Because the Batesville Memorial Public Library is part of the Evergreen Indiana Consortium, card holders in our library district can search for and borrow materials from any of the other 100 or so Evergreen libraries in the state.  Click the links below for more Evergreen Indiana information:

The BMPL subscribes to numerous searchable databases that our card holders can use for free. Most of these databases require your bar code and/or a PIN. Contact us to receive your 4-digit PIN.